Cover Design?

Set of retouching tools for manipulating photo...

Image via Wikipedia

Alright you screwheads! LISTEN UP! SEE THIS? THIS IS MY … oh wait hang on this is wordpress. (And this is also being cross posted in my DA journal for you lovelies!)

OK! So today i’m crabbing about doing cover design (mixed with the fact i’m sitting in my pajamas waiting to do housework… lazy much?)

I’m having a real hard time procuring the stock images i really need – i love the stuff i’ve gotten and i love the artistry in the photowork provided. Problem is – sometimes they don’t match what i need; and getting that can be a pain in the ass.  I don’t have all the money in the world to hawk the royalty free places – and most exchange places don’t have what i need.

Plus the really awesome photoshop tools i need are always paid services via graphic river or envato. Now unless people start to buy my book – which doesn’t usually happen if i complain whine and moan…. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005OSXJJW  but it’s only 99c and you’ll notice i’ve got other books for sale LOL.  ALRIGHT NOW I AM DONE WHINING ABOUT MY BOOK – I’m still whining about design and cover design…

Some people expect me to pay them to make the cover – and i’m like “HONEY, i’ve had a copy of photoshop since i was 15 freaking years old – you think i’m going to give up my toy just to pay for your services in which i do not like? HELLO?????” – Some of these covers are like romance covers, i am not a romance writer… despite the fact that my head is a constant rampat yaoi closet and nobody has to open the door as the books don’t cover what’s non canon LLOLLL….. ahem.   This is the more recent cover i’ve tried to make: http://fav.me/d4brfsr it’s on my DA account and it’s a stock photo manipulation. I’d love for you to check it out and see what you think.

What do you think of cover design… is it all lost? Is it all in the eye of the beholder?

Stock images, are they worth it?

Is my book even worth it enough to be bought?

These are some things i just wish i could get answered LOL

 

Leave a Reply

